Copperplate line engraving by George Cooke after Henry Edridge (1768-1821). Published by John Murray, Albemarle Street, London, June 1814, then published again later as plate 23 in the folder Picturesque Views on the Southern Coast. This plate was reprinted again in 1849, but without the word Sussex in the title.
The tall building right of centre was the pump house that supplied seawater for the public baths run by Dr. Awsiter. It was pulled down in 1829 when Grand Junction Road was built, to join Marine Parade to the King’s Road. Prior to this road building project, it was not possible to drive a carriage along the coast south past the Steine: traffic had to detour through the town.
The boat in this picture is a collier, delivering coal to the town, and horses can be seen taking the sacks of coal from ship to shore. Before the Chain Pier was built, goods and passengers had to negotiate the tide and the beach in order to land at the town.
Illustrated in Georgian Brighton by Sue Berry. Phillimore, 2005. Illustrated on page 74.
Images of Brighton 86 and illustrated on page 59.
See all images of the beach in the beach gallery